Farewell HTC, Hello …..

I’ve been an HTC customer for as long as I’ve owned smartphones.  I’ve owned their Windows Mobile Phones, the Sprint HTC Hero, Droid Eris, Droid Incredible, and now the HTC Thunderbolt.  One area that HTC has always fallen short is with the battery.  HTC has done well with Sense, but they’ve let their custom UI / user experience hold up Android updates.

Most recently I’ve been alarmed by HTC’s flagrant disregard for my privacy.  Android Police first reported on the vulnerability caused by htcloggers.apk.  I contacted Verizon and HTC to share my dissatisfaction.  The HTC representative was very rude and disrespectful.

A Verizon rep actually stepped up to the plate and took it upon himself to schedule a repeating occurrence on his calendar to send me reminders on the issue.  Surprisingly he has kept to his word in keeping me informed.

HTC sent me a survey and I once again shared that I was dissatisfied with the attention they gave to my concerns.   HTC reached out to me to hear about my experience but basically refused to do anything about it.  They asked my opinion again so I supplied it.

Today I got the chance to speak with Joshua from HTC.  He took the time to listen to my problems and was very respectful.  He noted my experience with the tech I spoke to as well as with the CSR that blew me off.  He probably won’t be able to do much more than this, and because of this HTC has lost me as a loyal customer.  He has put in a request that I get my Thunderbolt swapped out for the next LTE phone that comes to Verizon.  Honestly, there’s little chance of that happening.

I’m looking forward to the Galaxy Nexus and Verizon has approved me for an early upgrade (on all devices other than the iPhone).  A rep will be calling me on the 10th to finalize my order and get one shipped out (assuming it’s released by then).

So that’s my recent experience with HTC and it’s time to part ways.   There are plenty of other manufacturers out there that make quality handsets.  IF HTC decides to swap out my Thunderbolt and IF it’s a worthy successor with great battery life I will be sure update my opinion about HTC.

About snappwku

I'm still figuring me out...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

